Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Alright, Okay, You Win

Alright, Okay, You Win Alright, Okay, You Win Alright, Okay, You Win

 Title: Alright, Okay, You Win 
 Label: Straight Arrow 
 Label Number: SA 2011-23-02 
 Release Date: 2011 
 Recording Type: Live Audience Recording 
 Location: Detroit / Michigan 
 Date: September 29 - 1974, Afternoon Show 
 Sound: average 
 Track Listing: 
01 Opening Vamp / C. C. Rider      05:12  
02 I Got A Woman / Amen      03:59  
03 Love Me      01:33  
04 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)      03:06  
05 It's Midnight      03:13  
06 Big Boss Man      02:34  
07 Fever      05:00  
08 Love Me Tender      03:01  
09 Hound Dog      01:42  
10 All Shook Up      01:02  
11 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel / Hound Dog      02:09  
12 Don't Be Cruel (reprise)      01:09  
13 Introductions of singers, musicians      02:39  
14 When It's My Time (by Voice)      02:04  
15 Why Me Lord (incomplete)      01:50  
16 Guitar Solo (James Burton      00:55  
17 Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)      01:02  
18 Bass Solo (Duke Bardwell)      00:39  
19 Alright, Okay, You Win (Glen D. Hardin, sung by Elvis)      01:36  
20 Orchestra Solo      00:58  
21 Killing Me Softly (by Voice, incomplete)      00:07  
22 Let Me Be There (with reprise, incomplete)      05:45  
23 Hawaiian Wedding Song      02:31  
24 Can't Help Falling In Love      01:40  
25 Closing Vamp      01:15  
26 Bonus: Alright, Okay, You Win (taken from soundboard)      01:16  
  Release  Note:  Since the late 70s, there were rumours that the tour opening in College Park was a complete disaster - one of the worst Elvis concerts ever. This rumour was first published in Jerry Hopkins' book, and it was repeated in various publications so many times that almost nobody had any doubt. In 2006, Straight Arrow released a CD called "CHAOS IN COLLEGE PARK" which was an eye-opener, and proof that it was rather decent concert with some fine performances, too.
According to several books, the Detroit, MI, September 29th, 1974 afternoon performance was another of the most controversial Elvis Presley events. In a recent book, "DAY BY DAY", it's said that Elvis was on stage for 30 minutes only, giving his worst concert of the tour.
In August, Straight Arrow obtained a bunch of tapes, among them a 1st generation copy of a previously unknown audience recording of this Detroit concert. The producers decided to release this particular recording because it is an interesting show in good sound quality. Will another myth be shattered? Is the show as bad as its reputation? Judge for yourself. It's worth pointing out that the running time is about an hour, and not 30 minutes.
As you've come to expect from Straight Arrow, the tape was completely restored for your enjoyable listening. The disc is accompanied with a deluxe 16-page booklet, including critical liner notes and a collection of photos taken in Detroit on Sept. 29th, October 4th and in South Bend on September 30th, 1974.

  Sound Sample:

  Alright, Okay, You Win
  Concert:  The show wasn`t a disaster as stated in many articles and books. It is nothing to brag about but no worse than many other concerts from this tour. Anyway a great addition to any collection. A filler. (Ciscoking)