Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Bicentennial Superstar

Bicentennial Superstar - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Bicentennial Superstar - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Bicentennial Superstar - Elvis Presley Bootleg CDBicentennial Superstar - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

  Title: Bicentennial Superstar 
  Label: TNT-Records 
  Label Number: SB-19760630/19760831-2 
  Release Date: 2014 
  Recording Type: Live Soundboard  Recording 
  Location: CD 1: Greensboro / North Carolina - The Coliseum
CD 2: Macon / Georgia - The Coliseum
  Date: CD 1: June 30 - 1976, Evening Show
CD 2: August 31 - 1976, Evening Show
  Sound: Soundboard 
  Track Listing:  
  CD 1: June 30 - 1976, ES        
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra   01:01
02 See See Rider   04:17
03 I Got A Woman / Amen   07:18
04 Love Me (with fals start)   02:42
05 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)   03:55
06 You Gave Me A Mountain   03:19
07 All Shook Up   01:00
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel   02:07
09 And I Love You So   03:19
10 Blue Suede Shoes   01:10
11 Fever   03:32
12 America (The Beautiful)   02:10
13 Band Introductions   01:44
14 Early Mornin' Rain   01:01
15 What'd I Say   00:57
16 Johnny B. Goode   00:55
17 Drums Solo (Ronnie Tutt)   01:16
18 Bass Solo 1 (Jerry Scheff)   01:37
19 Bass Solo 2 (Blues, Jerry Scheff)   00:52
20 Piano Solo (Tony Brown)   01:25
21 Electric Piano Solo (David Briggs)   01:05
22 Love Letters   03:06
23 School Days   01:01
24 Love Me Tender   02:23
25 Hurt #1   01:52
26 Hurt #2   02:24
27 Funny How Time Slips Away   03:13
28 Hound Dog   01:48
29 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:40
30 Closing Vamp / Announcements   02:22
  CD 2:  August 31 - 1976, ES        
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra   00:59
02 See See Rider   04:25
03 I Got A Woman / Amen   08:18
04 Love Me   02:46
05 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)   03:00
06 You Gave Me A Mountain   03:40
07 All Shook Up   01:02
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel   02:00
09 And I Love You So   03:25
10 Jailhouse Rock   01:31
11 Fever   03:47
12 America (The Beautiful) (with reprise)   02:51
13 Band Introductions   03:16
14 Early Mornin' Rain   01:02
15 What'd I Say   00:52
16 Johnny B. Goode   00:54
17 Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)   01:46
18 Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff, incomplete)   01:07
19 Electric Piano Solo (David Briggs, incomplete)   00:40
20 Love Letters   03:12
21 School Days   00:59
22 Hurt   01:59
23 Hound Dog   02:17
24 That’s All Right   01:59
25 Blue Christmas   02:16
26 Mystery Train / Tiger Man   02:33
27 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:43
28 Closing Vamp   01:26
  Sound Sample:  Love Letters (June 30, 1976 - ES)

Jailhouse Rock (August 31, 1976 - ES)
  Notes:  Press announcement:
Welcome to TNT Records´ fourth CD release. Again with a little help from our friends at “Audionics” - probably THE premium and still active label when it comes to rare recordings in best possible sound - we decided to take a closer look to the extremely busy Elvis in the Summer of 1976. As we all know it was a time when Elvis actually should have cared a lot more for himself than for his fans. Money might also have been some kind of reason to continue restless touring and the quality of his performances were in many cases merely a shadow of the past. Still Elvis´ popularity was tremendous and it seemed so easy to sell out every single show. And so he did on the two nights featured in this 2 CD set.

Show #1 took place on June 30th, and the 16000 fans at the Coliseum in Greensboro absolutely loved Elvis´ show although they experienced that “the pelvis didn´t move quite the way it used to” and that “Elvis Presley is in his forties now” and “has put on some weight in the midsection”. While the fans on the one hand didn´t bother that much regarding Elvis´ weight the press did. Anyhow the reviews were still okay and the reporters finally had to admit that the “Elvis magic” still turns ém on! Thankfully the concert has been recorded from the soundboard and for this kind of recordings it has fantastic sound! Plus it reveals that Elvis delivers at least a decent and entertaining show.

Show #2 is from August 31, and by this time Elvis´ health problems were visual even for his most dedicated fans. On this late August/early September tour The “King” had a very bad start with terrible performances in San Antonio, Houston, Mobile and Tuscaloosa. Collectors most likely do own the released CDs with the shows from August 28 and 30 so they can judge for themselves.

Elvis “Super-Fan” Brenda Dymock was a witness on every show of the tour and she wrote in a 1976 article which she sent to UK´s Rex Martin: “Well I don´t know what happened with Elvis between Tuscaloosa and Macon but Boy! What a difference. He was in a great mood and really put on a great show.” Well, whatever Brenda has experienced: Just listen yourself on yet another great sounding soundboard recording!
  Concert:  The June 30 Concert was released before on "My , It's Been A Long Long Time", the August 31 show on "Southbound". See comments there.