Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Matinee Majesty

Matinee Majesty - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Matinee Majesty - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Matinee Majesty - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

 Title: Matinee Majesty 
 Label: Straight Arrow 
 Label Number: SA 2011-19-02 
 Release Date: 2011 
 Recording Type: Live Audience Recording 
 Location: Providence, Rhode Island 
 Date: June 26, 1976, Afternoon Show 
 Sound: Good ! 
 Track Listing: 
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra       01:02
02 C. C. Rider       03:22
03 I Got A Woman / Amen       07:42
04 Love Me       02:43
05 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)       02:58
06 You Gave Me A Mountain       03:48
07 All Shook Up       01:03
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel       02:07
09 And I Love You So       03:20
10 Jailhouse Rock       01:33
11 Fever       03:37
12 America The Beautiful       02:10
13 Polk Salad Annie (false start only) / Introductions       01:29
14 Early Morning Rain (John Wilkinson)       01:01
15 What'd I Say (James Burton)       00:42
16 Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)       01:48
17 Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff)       01:26
18 Piano Solo (Tony Brown)       01:11
19 Electric Piano Solo (David Briggs)       00:59
20 Love Letters       03:21
21 School Days (Joe Guercio Orchestra)       00:57
22 Hurt       01:55
23 Hurt (reprise)       02:03
24 Hound Dog       01:57
25 Funny How Time Slips Away       03:20
26 Can't Help Falling In Love       01:45
27 Closing Vamp / Announcements       01:42
Notes :  First release on silver disc.

Press note:
Straight Arrow will release a new CD called "MATINEE MAJESTY" (SA 2011-19-02). It will feature Elvis' full June 26th, 1976 afternoon show from Providence, RI.
Unlike many other concert recordings from 1976, this one is quite enjoyable. It was Elvis' 2nd show of the tour and he was still full of energy and in fine voice. Most of songs are performed well, including the oldies. The highlights, however, are ballads like "And I Love You So", "Love Letters", a double dose of "Hurt" and a majestic performance of the 2nd national anthem, "America The Beautiful".

The fidelity and clarity of this STEREO audience recording is excellent. We believe that you will be pleasantly surprised with such a topnotch recording of a very upbeat performance from what is generally known as a troubled year for our man. As you've come to expect from Straight Arrow, the producers managed to get the best possible source - an original tape was obtained from a person who WAS THERE. This recording was completely restored and the sound was enhanced for the best possible listening pleasure.
The CD package is completed with a 16-page booklet, including a collection of photos from the Providence matinee show and a very positive press review of the show.

"Matinee Majesty" will be released in March, 2011. Don't miss your chance to obtain another cool show from The King. It is a magical prequel of another Providence concert, the one from May 23, 1977, released by Straight Arrow just a few weeks ago!
  Sound Sample:  Fever  
 Concert:  The tour as a whole belongs to the better ones of this year without so many concert highlights. Elvis had a strong voice and tried hard to deliver a solid performance and he succeeded. The setlist is pretty standard with the usual stand-outs  You Gave Me A Mountain, America The Beautiful or Hurt. For the collectors a must-have and for all others a nice addition. (Ciscoking)