Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1

You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

 Title: You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1  
 Label: Gravel Road Music 
 Label Number: GR CD 7002-2 
 Release Date:2008  
 Recording Type: Studio recordings 
 Location: Studio B, Nashville 
 Date: June 4 - 6, 1970 
 Sound: Studio 
 Track Listing: 
01 Twenty Days And Twenty Nights (take 9 - undubbed master)   03:19
02 I've Lost You (take 7 - unedited undubbed master)   03:34
03 I Was Born About 10.000 Years Ago (overdubbed unedited master, diff. mix)   03:32
04 The Sound Of Your Cry (take 11 - edited undubbed master)   03:17
05 The Fool (take 1 - try out)   02:24
06 Little Cabin On The Hill (take 2 - undubbed master)   01:49
07 Cindy, Cindy (take 1 unedited)   03:52
08 Bridge Over Troubled Water (take 8 - unrepaired, undubbed master)   04:39
09 Got My Mojo Working / Keep Your Hands Off It (take 1 - unedited master)   05:13
10 How The Web Was Woven (take 3 - with backup vocals)   03:29
11 It's Your Baby, You Rock It (take 5 - unedited master)   03:15
12 Stranger In The Crowd (take 9 - with backup vocals and overdubbed strings)   03:53
13 I'll Never Know (take 7 - brass and strings overdubs, no backing vocals)   02:30
14 Mary In The Morning (take 5 -  unedited master)   04:11
15 Ain't No Big Thing (take 9 - strings overdubs, no backing vocals)   02:54
16 You Don't Have To Say You Love Me (take 3- strings overdubs)   02:34
17 Just Pretend (take 3 -  undubbed master)   04:14
18 This Is Our Dance (take 11 -  undubbed master)   03:19
19 Life (take 20 -  undubbed master)   03:19
20 Heart Of Rome (undubbed composite master)   02:56
21 Bridge Over Troubled Water (vocal repair & harmony vocal overdub)   04:16
22 There Goes My Everything (take 3 - unedited master)   03:06
    Announcement: You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country  is 70% unreleased and 100% better sounding 45 amazing tracks collected from private collections of which many for the first time in this shape on CD.
These are the acetates which Elvis took home to play-back and agreed to be released! All tracks have been digitally restored and re-mastered. These acetates often sound better & different than what we know and made it to a LP or nowadays on CD.

You Know, It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, Vol. 1  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

Some tracks which appear to be known are now for the first time in their complete form. So in a way it's released and unreleased --- This includes studio talk, count in, left & right channels, longer fade outs or even different lyrics or simply differently sung.
Most will be stereo. As happened in the past some releases only used one channel (This was a easy way to reduce the distortion but so much got lost!) The audio difference between tracks is purely the source and the transfer.

Some have been transferred on to DAT others on to regular cassette tapes in the past. Keep in mind that the original acetates are various in playability.
Original acetates can only be played a few times (after that the quality gets less.) We chose for maximum sound quality per track instead of making them similar to each other! In this way you always get the best sound out of very recording.

The synopsis for this CD: The masters without dubbing and without repairs in their complete form. Unfortunately we don't have every master on acetate of the June and September sessions.
So we added some first takes to cover all songs. Also a few tracks of work in progress, a rare chance to hear, a song still being built up to a complete dubbed final master. Guide-strings, horns, backing vocals, the talking, it's all there!

Something which will strike everybody is that Elvis' voice remains impressive on each track.

Background information; It's a public known fact that Elvis regularly disagreed with the released version of the songs.
Unluckily he hardly made his point towards the ones responsible, knowing there were times he was wrong and the song became a hit (In The Ghetto, Suspicious Minds, Burning Love and others)
This CD contain the versions how Elvis liked it!

All together a really new kind of release which will make many Elvis fan's happy to hear these rare acetates available in their best possible form.
The purist will be happy since no effects have been used to enhance the sound.
There are no further copies of acetates available in better sound, only a very few copies were made of each song and most are gone or badly damaged. The acetate lacquer wears out very fast so every track is unique.