Elvis On CDBootleg CDs


827 Thomas Crown Affair

827 Thomas Crown Affair - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD 827 Thomas Crown Affair - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD 827 Thomas Crown Affair - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

Title: From Elvis - 827 Thomas Crown Affair
Label: Victrola
Label Number: 2015-01-2
Release Date: 2015
Recording Type: Studio
Location: American Sound Studios, Memphis/Tennessee
Date: January/February 1969
Sound: Studio


01 Wearin' That Loved On Look   03:00
02 Only The Strong Survive   03:16
03 I'll Hold You In My Heart   04:24
04 Long Black Limousine   04:21
05 It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin'   02:38
06 I'm Movin' On   03:04
07 Power Of My Love   02:47
08 Gentle On My Mind   03:38
09 After Loving You   03:12
10 True Love Travels On A Gravel Road   03:04
11 Any Day Now   03:05
12 In The Ghetto   02:57
  Bonus tracks:       
13 I'm Movin' On (take 2)   02:56
14 Long Black Limousine (splice of takes 2 & 5)   03:54
Notes: Press note:
The American Sound sessions of '69 are an iconic marker in Elvis Presley's career. The Singer Special of  '68 had returned the King to the throne he had vacated for Hollywood for the past decade. He returned to Memphis, where it all began. He was home, he was recharged and in fine form vocally, mentally and physically.

Chips Moman presented the songs to Elvis and produced the rhythm sessions with the Memphis Boys; Reggie Young, Tommy Cogbill, Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood, Mike Leech and Gene Chrisman. A fine stable of musicians who contributed a style which was heavily R&B influenced. This and the fact that Chips had a knack for producing hits is what drew Elvis to American Sound in the first place.

Reports from direct sources state that Chips was very much in charge of production. He was the producer, no matter who got credit. Felton Jarvis and Al Pachucki, since they engineered the mixes, also received credit. The tracks on this disc present a warmer, richer sound and mix, than found on previously released albums!
'Every song presented here is in its original undubbed form, apart from "Gentle On My Mind" and "I'm Moving On". As the American sessions were so important in Elvis' career, they produced a stream of hits, this CD needs to have a space in your collection. We hope you enjoy this CD as much as we have enjoyed compiling it for you! (December 2015)