Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Fifth Time Around

 Fifth Time Around - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Fifth Time Around Fifth Time Around

Title: Fifth Time Around
Label: Audionics
Label Number: 2011-01-2
Release Date:


Recording Type:

Live Recording


Memphis/Tennessee, Mid-South Coliseum


March 20 - 1974, Evening Show



 Track Listing: 
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra    01:14
02 C. C. Rider   04:10
03 I Got A Woman / Amen   04:50
04 Love Me   01:51
05 Tryin' To Get To You   02:04
06 All Shook Up   01:01
07 Steamroller Blues   02:51
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel   02:02
09 Love Me Tender   01:42
10 Medley*   03:33
11 Fever   03:08
12 Polk Salad Annie   03:37
13 Why Me, Lord   02:52
14 How Great Thou Art   03:38
15 Suspicious Minds   03:36
16 Introduction of vocalists, band, orchestra, engineers, Ed Bonja   03:07
17 Blueberry Hill / I Can't Stop Loving You   03:02
18 Help Me (with false start)   02:48
19 An American Trilogy   03:55
20 Let Me Be There (with reprise)   03:33
21 My Baby Left Me   02:22
22 Lawdy Miss Clawdy   02:17
23 Funny How Time Slips Away   02:44
24 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:38
25 Closing Vamp / Announcements   01:12
Notes:*Long Tall Sally / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On / Your Mama Don't Dance / Flip, Flop And Fly / Jailhouse Rock / Hound Dog

Tracks 06-09, 11, 12, 15, 16 and 23 omitted from official 1974 RCA release.
Track 03 edited on official 1974 RCA release.
Tracks 16, 18 edited on official 2004 FTD release.

From the release announcement:

The legendary March 20th, 1974 Memphis, TN concert has been released on a number of occasions, beginning with RCA's original 1974 LP edit with artificial applause mixed in. In 1994, a more complete, unofficial version was issued by " Fort Baxter". It was, however, a patchwork from several different sources incl. many tracks taken from the original RCA LP with overdubs. In 1997, "Steamroller Blues" was issued in pristine quality on "Platinum - A Life In Music". Finally in 2004, BMG's "Follow That Dream" the Elvis collectors label reissued this show nearly complete, in a beautiful deluxe package. But was it the definitive release? For die-hard fans it wasn't, and some viewed it as a letdown. Parts of the dialogues, introductions and even the false start of "Help Me" were omitted, and many have complained about the sound and mixing. Clearly, too much compression and artificial reverb had been applied.

Well, at long last this legendary set is now truly complete, and without the audio choices made by FTD several years ago. Audionics worked with a DAT copy of an original, rough mix tape "as recorded at the Coliseum". Every bit was carefully enhanced in a renowned studio to achieve the best possible quality for your optimal listening pleasure. We hope that you enjoy the results.

No remixing. No noise reduction. No edits. No artificial reverb or other added effects. No heavy compression. Just a pure, raw and natural sound. The King back in his hometown Memphis, on the 20th anniversary of his first release "Thatís All Right Mama". Elvis was in great form for this recording, and now, for the first time, you can enjoy the excellence of his performance that night in the best-ever sound!

This CD will be released in digipack accompanied by 20-page booklet with many photos from the concert and an interesting essay.

For many, this concert remains the definitive, mid-70s document of The Elvis Presley Show. And that's all right. If you are not satisfied with previous releases of this show, don't miss your chance to obtain this alternate version as provided by Audionics. A decision you will not regret!

Sound Sample: Trying To Get To You
Concert: See comments for "Steamroller Blues"