Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Holding His Own In Tahoe!

Holding His Own In Tahoe!  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CDHolding His Own In Tahoe!  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Holding His Own In Tahoe!  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Holding His Own In Tahoe!  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

 Title:   Holding His Own In Tahoe! 
 Label:   Straight Arrow 
 Catalog Number:   SA/SP 2016-40-02 
  Release Date:  2016 
  Recording Type:  Live Audience Recording 
 Location:  Lake Tahoe / Nevada, Sahara Tahoe Hotel 
 Date:  May 8, 1976 - Midnight Show 
 Sound:  Very Good 
  Track listing: 
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra       01:03
02 See See Rider       04:36
03 I Got A Woman / Amen       06:53
04 Love Me       04:42
05 If You Love Me Let Me Know       03:04
06 You Gave Me A Mountain       03:16
07 All Shook Up       01:03
08 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel       02:40
09 Tryin' To Get To You       02:18
10 My Way       04:05
11 Polk Salad Annie       04:19
01 Introductions of singers, musicians, orchestra       03:20
02 Early Morning Rain       01:02
03 What'd I Say       00:58
04 Johnny B. Goode       00:55
05 Drum Solo (Ronnie Tutt)       01:19
06 Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff)       01:49
07 Piano Solo (Tony Brown)       01:18
08 Electric Piano & Clavinet Solo (David Briggs)       00:59
09 Love Letters       03:01
10 School Days       00:49
11 Hurt #1       02:02
12 Hurt #2       02:15
13 Fever       04:26
14 Softly As I Leave You       02:43
15 My Heavenly Father Watches Over Me (Kathy Westmoreland)       04:01
16 Danny Boy (Sherrill Nielsen)       02:37
17 Hound Dog       01:34
18 Introduction of Vernon Presley       00:39
19 The Wonder Of You (with false start)       02:10
20 Hawaiian Wedding Song       02:10
21 Mystery Train / Tiger Man       03:24
22 Can't Help Falling In Love       01:40
23 Closing Vamp       01:07
  Sound Sample:  See See Rider
  Notes  CDs are housed in a 4-panel digipak.

Press note from June 2016:
Straight Arrow is pleased to bring you a previously unreleased concert from Elvis’ last season in Lake Tahoe.

Opinions on the standard of Elvis' last stint in Lake Tahoe often vary. Granted, he did look quite bloated during these shows, and the jumpsuits often looked unflattering, but Elvis was generally in good voice. He delivered his longest ever shows in Tahoe and the King really did seemed to enjoy the intimacy of the showroom, along with the rapport with the fans in attendance there.

The May 8th 1976 Midnight Show is, without doubt, one of best concerts from the engagement. With the exception of a messed-up "The Wonder Of You", Elvis performed consistently well at this concert. His delivery, on the whole, was very strong. There’s a nice intimacy to the recording, and his interplay with audience and musicians alike was a true delight. There were also a number of vocally-impressive renditions, one being Elvis’ latest RCA single, “Hurt", which he performed twice. Also worth a mention were solid performances of "Polk Salad Annie", "My Way", "Tryin' To Get To You" and "Mystery Train / Tiger Man".
A water pistol fight at the beginning of the show underlined how much Elvis was enjoying himself. A most interesting concert in rather good sound quality.

As usual, this new release will be presented in a beautiful 4-panel digipak that includes a great deal of information plus Lake Tahoe memorabilia and rare photos taken during the season. If you liked our other Lake Tahoe 1976 releases like “A Triple Threat!” (SA/SP 2011-03-02), we'll bet that you will also love this one!

  Concert:  One of the best shows from this Tahoe season with an excellent song line-up. Elvis is in high spirits and the crowd definitely had a great evening ! Highlights include songs like Tryin' To Get To You, Hurt, My Way, the lovely Hawaiian Wedding Song or Mystery Train / Tiger Man. Great! (Ciscoking)