Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Loose As A Goose!

Loose As A Goose - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD  Loose As A Goose - Elvis Presley Bootleg CDLoose As A Goose - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

 Title: Loose As A Goose! 
  Label: Straight Arrow 
  Label Number: SA/SP 2014-27B-02 
  Release Date: 2015 
  Recording Type: Live Audience Recording 
 Location: Las Vegas 
 Date: August 19, 1970 - Dinner Show & Midnight Show 
 Sound: Excellent 
  Track Listing:  
  CD 1: Dinner Show        
01 Orchestra Intro       00:29
02 Opening Vamp       00:40
03 Tiger Man       02:00
04 I Got A Woman (with false start) / Ave Maria (excerpt)       03:49
05 Monologue       02:39
06 Love Me Tender (false start only)       00:24
07 I've Lost You       03:58
08 You Don't Have To Say You Love Me       02:22
09 You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'       04:19
10 Polk Salad Annie       05:50
11 Introductions of singers, musicians, orchestra       04:55
12 The Wonder Of You       02:32
13 Heartbreak Hotel (with 4 false starts)       01:59
14 One Night       01:31
15 Blue Suede Shoes       01:13
16 Along Came Jones (excerpt)       00:40
17 Hound Dog       03:08
18 Bridge Over Troubled Water       04:27
19 Suspicious Minds       06:03
20 Can't Help Falling In Love       01:57
  CD 2: Midnight Show        
01 Orchestra Intro       00:55
02 Opening Vamp       00:49
03 That's All Right       02:03
04 I Got A Woman       02:13
05 Tiger Man       01:48
06 I Walk The Line (excerpt) / Monologue       01:33
07 Love Me Tender       06:22
08 Instrumental intermezzo #1       00:45
09 I've Lost You       04:18
10 Just Can't Help Believin'       04:42
11 You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'       04:21
12 Polk Salad Annie       05:48
13 Instrumental intermezzo #2       01:05
14 Introductions of singers, musicians, orchestra       01:10
15 Johnny B. Goode       01:46
16 Introductions continues       01:37
17 The Wonder Of You       02:27
18 Heartbreak Hotel       01:39
19 One Night       01:30
20 All Shook Up       01:02
21 Blue Suede Shoes       01:57
22 Hound Dog       03:32
23 Bridge Over Troubled Water       04:45
24 Suspicious Minds       05:59
25 Can't Help Falling In Love       01:52
26 Closing Vamp       00:24
  Note:  Loose As A Goose - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

Loose As A Goose - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD
3 panel Digipak

The new Straight Arrow's double-digipak CD release, called "Loose As A Goose!", featuring the August 19th, 1970 Las Vegas dinner and midnight shows. These recordings were first released in 1998 ("Double Dynamite" set) and were never re-released - until now.

From the press-release:
17 years have passed, and it is the right time for the ultimate release of these special recordings.

To call this new Straight Arrow release „a nice upgrade“ would be like calling the Mona Lisa an „okay“ painting! The label was able to retrieve the first generation Rick Rennie cassettes from the August 19, 1970 dinner & midnight shows (the originals are lost) and then carefully enhanced every second on the tapes. As it turns out, that earlier release of these two show was edited, so this new SA release presents Rick's 1st generations tapes in their complete form for the very first time. To give you an example, the dinner show on "Double Dynamite" was about 45 mins; now it‘s 56 mins!

Still, one edit remains in the DS recording, the one made by the late Rick Rennie originally. Rick told us about 10 years ago that ‘Love Me Tender’ just went on and on, with Elvis being mostly preoccupied with entertaining a few lucky ladies in the front rows. This went on for almost 15 minutes, and all around him Rick could hear people starting to "boo" Elvis. He felt embarrassed about this moment and edited it from the tape. Interestingly, the label on the tape reads: "Elvis - the booed show. Edited." Even though Elvis’ performance on this night was quite strong overall, you can hear in parts that Rick’s account rings true. Elvis’ off-color jokes receive only polite applause, if even that, and during ‘Polk Salad Annie’, he accidentally falls flat on his face!

But make no mistake about it, even these moments cannot distract from the pure dynamite of Elvis’ vocals and showmanship at the time. Especially on the newer stuff he sings at full throttle. The midnight show is even better: it’s 70 action-packed minutes of Presley at his mightiest, rockinest, lovinest… It’s „Elvis 1970“, and that really says it all for the true fan & connoisseur. Even more so than the TTWII recordings, these tapes give us a unique insight into Elvis performing live in his element & at the peak of his considerable powers. At the same time, these recordings are significant because they give us the first glimpses of what was to come…

As with every Straight Arrow’s "upgrade", this beautifully designed double-digipack edition is limited to 500 copies. If you enjoyed "A New Decade, A New Sound" and "Lightning Strikes Twice In Portland" you will definitely not be disappointed by "Loose As A Goose!". These shows never sounded better! Elvis never sounded better!  (press note, January 2015)


  Sound Sample:  One Night (Dinner Show)

You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (Midnight Show)
  Concert:  See "Double Dynamite", where we have the same content.