Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Rock in Black

Rock In Black - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Rock In Black Rock In BlackRock In Black

Title: Rock In Black
Label: SR Records
Label Number: not listed
Release Date: 2007
Recording Type: Soundboard /  Audience Recording
Location: Las Vegas, Hilton Hotel
Date: CD1: January 26, 1970 - Opening Night
CD2: February 23, 1970 - Dinner Show
Sound: Soundboard / Good
  Track Listing:  
  CD 1:        
01 Intro   00:58
02 All shook Up   01:30
03 That's All Right   02:50
04 Proud Mary   02:59
05 Don't Cry Daddy   03:00
06 Teddy Bear/Don't Be Cruel   02:24
07 Long Tall Sally   01:51
08 Let It Be Me   03:51
09 I Can't Stop Loving You   02:54
10 Walk A Mile In my Shoes(In the Ghetto   05:28
11 True Love Travels On A Gravel Road   04:28
12 Sweet Carolina   04:02
13 Polk Salad annie   05:31
14 Introductions   02:13
15 Kentucky Rain   03:20
16 Suspicious Minds   06:27
17 Can't Help Falling In Love (part.)   00:13
  CD 2:        
01 Intro   00:38
02 All Shook Up   02:33
03 I Got A Woman   02:41
04 Long Tall Sally   02:52
05 Don't Cry Daddy   04:27
06 Hound Dog   02:27
07 Love me Tender   02:27
08 Kentucky Rain   03:07
09 Let It Be Me   03:05
10 I Can't Stop Loving You   03:25
11 Walk A Mile In my Shoes   03:33
12 C.C. Rider   02:34
13 Sweet Caroline   02:31
14 Polk Salad Annie   04:24
15 Introductions   08:37
16 Suspicious Minds   05:09
17 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:40
18 Walk A Mile In My Shoes / In The Ghetto (few lines)   05:49
19 Sweet Caroline   02:49
20 Polk Salad Annie   05:53
21 Suspicious Minds   05:32
Note: CD 2 is wrongly dated as February 22, 1970 - Midnight Show!

Press note:
The sixth release from the “SR” label scheduled for an early February release is entitled ‘Rock In Black’ and will feature both the complete January 26th 1970 Las Vegas opening show and the complete February 22nd midnight show from the showroom. As with the other SR releases we get something new and a little different. For this release we decided to focus on the early 1970 Vegas season affording you the possibility to listen to the quality of the performance throughout this season via the two shows presented here.

This Deluxe Digipack import is limited to only 500 copies. The 6 panel packaging will include unreleased Elvis photo’s, the black jumpsuit of the opening night will appear here for the first time, as a bonus three side fold out inlay poster.

The producers are aware of the fact that the opening night show, as one of the best Elvis Presley concerts ever, has been released in parts on two previous imports. Here we give you the chance to listen to the show in its entirety and with professionally remastered sound from the original audio source. The second show, the unreleased February 22nd midnight show, although not new to tape collectors, will not have been heard in this quality before. This release is taken directly from a first generation tape and has been professionally remastered to a high standard producing an excellent audio quality. Elvis is still able to concentrate to the end of the season, delivering a great performance that compares with the opening night in terms of quality.

Excerpt from sleeve notes:

…’Rock In Black’ wants to give you a unique perspective of the man and his music during this February Vegas season. The second season allows Elvis, after paying his debt to the golden past in the ’69 season, to demonstrate his true abilities. We see the best of Elvis in songs that will become the fulcrum of the Elvis show until 1972. Here you can hear the complete remastered and remixed opening night with the almost complete February 22nd show.
If we listen carefully we can see through the music more of the man we all appreciate and how the music develops through hard work during the course of the season. The opening night and throughout this season we can hear….

Concert: The January 1970 Opening Show speaks for itself, an outstanding performance. We already had this one on "True Love Travels On A Gravel Road" and "Walk A Mile In My Shoes".
The other show  was taken directly from a tape floating around for years now among collectors circles. No efforts were made to improve the sound.  The show is quite good thou. (Ciscoking)
Sound Sample:

Sweet Caroline (January 26, 1970)

Walk A Mile In My Shoes (February 23, 1970)