Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

The Beat Is Back

The Beat Is Back - Elvis Presley Bootleg CDThe Beat Is Back - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD The Beat Is Back - Elvis Presley Bootleg CDThe Beat Is Back - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

Title: The Beat Is Back
Label: E.P. Collector
Label Number: EPC 2016-06A/B
Release Date: 2016
Recording Type: Live Audience Recording
Location: Kansas City / Missouri
Date: April 21,1976 - Evening Show
Sound: Good (partly average)
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra   00:52
02 C. C. Rider   04:58
03 I Got A Woman / Amen   05:15
04 Love Me   02:06
05 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)   03:10
06 You Gave Me A Mountain   05:32
07 Steamroller Blues   03:44
08 All Shook Up   01:07
09 Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel   03:12
10 Heartbreak Hotel   02:10
11 My Way   04:01
12 Polk Salad Annie   04:38
01 Band Introductions   02:51
02 What'd I Say   00:33
03 Drums Solo (Ronnie Tutt)   01:08
04 Bass Solo (Jerry Scheff)   01:09
05 Piano Solo (Tony Brown)   00:58
06 Electric Piano Solo (David Briggs)   01:43
07 School Days   01:04
08 And I Love You So       03:44
09 Hurt   02:48
10 Help Me   03:06
11 Burning Love   03:20
12 America (The Beautiful)   02:47
13 How Great Thou Art 03:21
14 Little Darlin' (with false start)   03:09
15 Funny How Time Slips Away (with reprise)   04:16
16 Hound Dog   03:40
17 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:45
18 Closing Vamp & Announcements   02:04
19 Elvis In Kansas City announcement   00:17
For the first time released on silver disc.

The Beat Is Back - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD
4-panel Digipak

>From the release notes (sic):
As per the March 1976 tour, the April tour was a short one - Elvis played just 8 shows in 7 days - but only 3 days after tour closing in Spokane, Elvis started his last-ever season in Lake Tahoe. Most of the April concerts were solid and the shows were longer, with very enjoyable set lists.

Note: Shane Kiester was replaced on piano by Tony Brown and Ronnie Tutt was back on drums, replacing Larrie Londin.

Among the concert highlights are ”Steamroller Blues“, ”Heartbreak Hotel”, ”My Way”, “Hurt“ and ”Burning Love”. There are other great performances, but one single performance stands out in particular - an unique, dramatic rendition of „How Great Thou Art“! Elvis' vocals on this are unbelievable, and this is a serious candidate for 'best live version ever'.

The April 21st, 1976 show is previously unreleased. The producers were looking for good sounding recording for more than 2 years. Finally they got 3 different tapes. The best sounding one was selected for release and small parts were repaired using secondary sources, to make the recording 100 percent complete.

The CD is packaged in a nicely designed double digipak filled with a glowing concert review from the local press and a collection of cool images taken on April 21st, 1976 in Kansas City, MO. With Ronnie Tutt back in band, the beat was back, too!


Sound Sample: How Great Thou Art
Concert: The show is quite passable, Elvis and band are very committed. In addition we have an interesting song line-up. On How Great Thou Art Elvis demonstrates what he was still able to deliver vocally. Awesome stuff!
Other highlights are Steamroller Blues, Heartbreak Hotel, Help Me or Burning Love. (Ciscoking)