Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

The Hillbilly Cat Returns

The Hillbilly Cat Returns - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD The Hillbilly Cat Returns The Hillbilly Cat Returns

Title: The Hillbilly Cat Returns
Label: Graceland Records
Label Number: GRCD-7003-2
Release Date: 2012
Recording Type: Live Audience Recording
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Date: August 24 - 1970, Midnight Show
Sound: Very Good !
  Track Listing:  
01 Orchestra Intro     


02 Opening Vamp / That's All Right     


03 I Got A Woman / Ave Maria (excerpt)     


04 Spanish Eyes (excerpt)     


05 Tiger Man     


06 I Just Can't Help Believing     


07 You've Lost That Loving Feeling     


08 Polk Salad Annie     


09 Band Intros     


10 Johnny B. Goode     


11 Celebrity introductions     


12 When The Snow Is On The Roses     


13 Celebrity introductions     


14 The Wonder Of You     


15 Heartbreak Hotel     


16 One Night     


17 All Shook Up (false start)     


18 Blue Suede Shoes / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On     


19 Hound Dog     


20 Bridge Over Troubled Water     


21 Suspicious Minds     


22 Can't Help Falling In Love (false start) / Release Me     


23 Can't Help Falling In Love / Closing Vamp     


Note Press notes:
As recorded at the Hilton Hotel showroom in Las Vegas, Nevada, August 24th, 1970, Midnight show.
Graceland Records comes with a new CD release the follow up of The Hillbilly Cat Live, a digipack with gorgeous photos and liner notes plus technical information. It features one of the best shows from his August Las Vegas engagement, namely the August 24th, 1970 midnight show, taken from the original unspoiled a tremendous audience recording! After the success of "The Hillbilly Cat Live" volume 1 we decided to give you the other Elvis show also. Again directly taken from the original master tape created in 1970 for the double vinyl release "The hillybilly Cat "live" This second show is entitled "The Hillybilly Cat returns", volume 2. The best title to link it to "The Hillybilly Cat Live ! Together you'll have the complete vinyl lp release on two CDs and MUCH MORE , the complete shows in their original form!

By now we can state that these recordings now sounds significantly better than they it did on the 1970 vinyl bootleg.
The historic.. THE HILLBILLY CAT "LIVE"! Is a sought after double lp from Canada, featuring two 1970 Vegas shows (August 23 DS and 24 MS) Edited together as one powerhouse performance.
Many believed at the time that it was a soundboard recording, but it was simply a great stereo tape, made from a front, center table.
Now for the first time, hear it straight from the original tapes, enhanced using 21st-century techniques.

The August 24 Midnight Show is the complete tape, which was only partly released on the double album

This show is a little more serious but with Elvis on top of his game and in great spirits, as the Hollywood cameras were gone.
Listen for perhaps one of the rarest songs in complete form "When The Snow Is On The Roses"," a tender love song originally recorded by Ed Ames, who as it was, present during this show. It's unique to point this out since Elvis rarely did something outside of this own songbook. All songs are getting the royal Elvis treatment so this show is one to take serious!
No wonder it became part of the first, and most legendary Elvis bootleg LPs!


Sound Sample: When The Snow Is On The Roses
Concert: See comments for "The Night Elvis Sang When The Snow Is On The Roses"