Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

The Unreachable Star

The Unreachable Star - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD  The Unreachable Star - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD
Title: The Unreachable Star
Label: SR Records
Label Number: no number
Release Date: 2009
Recording Type: Live Audience Recording
Location: Cincinnati / Ohio
Date: November 11, 1971, Evening Show
Sound: Good !
Track Listing:
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra   01:53
02 That's All Right   01:44
03 I Got a Woman / Amen   03:03
04 Proud Mary   02:40
05 You Don't Have To Say You Love Me   02:01
06 You've Lost That Loving Feeling   04:20
07 Polk Salad Annie   04:28
08 Intermission   01:10
09 Love Me   01:35
10 Heartbreak Hotel   01:36
11 Blue Suede Shoes / Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On   01:49
12 One Night   01:32
13 Are You Lonesome Tonight?   02:32
14 It's Now or Never   02:15
15 Hound Dog   01:27
16 How Great Thou Art   02:40
17 Band Introductions   01:24
18 Lawdy Miss Clawdy   02:07
19 Bridge Over Troubled Water (with reprise)   05:19
20 I Can't Stop Loving You   02:20
21 Mystery Train / Tiger Man   02:42
22 Release Me   02:24
23 Suspicious Minds   06:02
24 The Impossible Dream   02:29
25 Funny How Time Slips Away   02:37
26 Hawaiian Wedding Song   01:43
27 Can't Help Falling In Love / Closing Vamp   02:35
 Sound Sample:  Release Me
 Notes:  There is a cut after the intro of Bridge Over Troubled Water, therefore, a short part of the first verse is missing.
The bootleggers made a mistake while creating the master.
Suspicious Minds can be heard before The Impossible Dream, it should be the other way round.

As you are aware the SR Label concentrates on early unreleased 1970's shows when Elvis was at his peak.
In this our twelfth release, we are proud to present a great show, one of the best of the 1971 November tour.
Having been imprisoned in the golden cage of Las Vegas and Lake Tahoe Elvis got the opportunity towards the end of the year to embark on his longest tour since 1957 and without doubt amongst the best of the 70's.

Unlike 1969/70 the tour isn't well covered with official releases so what we have in our hands gives us the possibility to hear the quality of a Presley show from this tour. Elvis' activity on the stage is incredible and the vocals stretch his ability, he performs the best numbers in his repertoire from the last two years with practically no new songs. Elvis is so dynamic that sometimes he can't control himself, but at the same time he is able to deliver his best repertoire, sometimes reinventing it to. We can imagine Elvis concentrating on the music to produce a great show. Elvis, singing straight to the audience, the performance is solid, long and rough; the 24 songs are presented superbly. Songs like Proud Mary, You've Lost the loving Feeling and Polk Salad Annie never sounded better; Elvis covers every period of his career from the classic oldies passing from the early sixties hits to the best of his comeback years. Toward the end perhaps the only surprise is the classic Hawaiian Wedding song.

The man looks, sings and moves in a great way. Elvis is performing at the height of his ability, Elvis is into his music. His focus, the attitude and his relationship with the music are evident which enables him to deliver a great show. This level remains throughout the tour here we have its peak.
The idea to release a 1971 November show was present from the begin of the SR label, the research of a good tape to gives the pleasure of the listen has continued in the last four years, finally this summer we have what we were looking for. Despite the limitation of the binaural tape, we believe that overall for an early seventies recording it represents the best and the only way to listen and enjoy Elvis at his best.

This previously unreleased recording was taken from an early generation copy of the original master tape, as recorded by a member of the audience. All tracks were digitally restored for your best possible listening pleasure; the sound quality is incredibly good considering the early Tour.
As usual from this label, this new CD will come in a deluxe digipack containing a collection of live photographs of the Cincinnati concert.


 Concert:  The sound has really been improved to what we had before on CD-R. We have a powerhouse performance with Elvis and band being in top shape. An excellent setlist rounds up a fantastic show.
Hear Elvis delivering great renditions of You've Lost That Loving Feeling, It's Now or Never, Bridge Over Troubled Water or Release Me. If only the layout would be a bit better. (Ciscoking)