Elvis On CDBootleg CDs

Raised On Vegas

Raised on Vegas  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Raised on Vegas  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD Raised on Vegas  - Elvis Presley Bootleg CD

 Title:   Raised On Vegas 
 Label:   Memory Records 
 Catalog Number:   MR 2057-2 
  Release Date:  August 2008 
  Recording Type:  Live Audience Recording 
 Location:  Las Vegas 
 Date:  August 6 - 1973, Opening Show. 
 Sound:  Very Good 
  Track listing: 
01 Also Sprach Zarathustra   00:40  
02 C. C. Rider   02:57  
03 Trouble   01:57  
04 Raised On Rock   03:12  
05 Love Me   01:38  
06 Steamroller Blues   03:08  
07 What Now My Love   03:09  
08 Blue Suede Shoes   01:09  
09 Memphis Tennessee   02:44  
10 Rock Medley*   02:55  
11 Love Me Tender   01:49  
12 Hound Dog   01:12  
13 Fever   03:15  
14 My Boy   04:00  
15 Suspicious Minds   04:09  
16 Band Introductions   01:20  
17 Celebrity Introductions**   02:19  
18 I Can't Stop Loving You   02:18  
19 An American Trilogy   04:34  
20 Bridge Over Troubled Water   04:21  
21 How Great Thou Art   02:32  
22 A Big Hunk O' Love   02:16  
23 Help Me Make It Through The Night   02:07  
24 Can't Help Falling In Love   01:35  
25 Closing Vamp 00:43


  *Medley: Long Tall Sally / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On / Mama Can't Dance / Flip, Flop And Fly / Jailhouse Rock / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On

**Celebrity introductions of Petula Clark, Guy March, Phillis McGuire and Liza Minelli.

From the liner notes:
Elvis was probably looking for something new, so even the introduction "Also Sprach Zarathustra" was re-arranged. After a standard "See See Rider", Elvis performed "Trouble" from "King Creole", revived for the first time since his "68' Comeback". lt was arranged to form a medley with his recent work - "Raised On Rock". While unique, this is the only known live performance of this song. Elvis did make several mistakes, mumbling the lyrics and he probably was not convinced about the medley Format.

The next night "Raised On Rock" was dropped for good and only "Trouble" was performed in most of his Summer concerts until it eventually disappeared too. After four standard songs Elvis surprised his audience with another rarity: "Memphis Tennessee". He had sung this song during the closing Show of his July '73 tour in Atlanta, GA.

The long Rrock 'n' Roll Medley illustrates better  than anything else his disinterest in most of the 50s hits. After a few more songs Elvis introduced a contemporary favorite of his, "My Boy", which may as well have been a semi-autobiographic song. He performed it very often during this season but it took him another four months to record it in the studio. His first attempt here is sincere but is somewhat insecure, sounding more like a rehearsal than a live performance.

As an every opening night, many celebrities were present. On this night they included Liza Minelli and Petula Clark. "I Can't Stop Loving You" was always performed well but for some reason Elvis was bored with "An American Trilogy', changing the lyrics here and there and in general butchering a great song. "Bridge Over Troubled Water" is a serious performance and so is "How Great Thou Art". These two songs are probably the best moments of this concert. Elvis then performs a favorite, "Help Me Make It Through The Night" and winds this concert up the scarf-giving "Can't Help Falling In Love" routine.


Sound Sample:  What Now My Love
  Concert:  We already had this show on "Fire In Vegas". See comments there.